week 3 – and i thought week 2 was hard! haha!

So i’ve hit week three in the C25K (how cool is that rather than write the whole thing out I can write it like that and it looks waaaaay cooler!).

Week 3 Day 1

Mini Daemons:

Allllllllllllllllllllllllllllll day yesterday I was dreading having to go for my run. This is pretty strange as all the 3 weeks before this I have really been looking forward to the run!

Let’s just pause here, I know I keep harping on about this, but really, it still amazes me….I run now. I never thought that would be something that would ever, ever come out of my mouth!

Anyway, last night was proof to me that this is more of a mental game than a physical game – I didn’t want to run for a variety of reasons:

  • It had rained from like 2pm til at least 4pm – therefore in my head I was thinking ‘My god! It will be freezing and horrible and probably it will rain all over me too!! Noo! This is a terrible prospect!’
  • I was feeling down – not feeling at all like going out and doing anything – really and truly all I wanted to do was go home and slouch on the couch and smooch around in my comfy trackies and do nothing but eat and watch tv. Somehow I thought this would make me feel better about what I was feeling crap about.
  •  But the biggest thing that was stopping me (or almost stopped me) was that last week on my Week3 Day 1 – I slacked right off. I didn’t run anywhere near like I should have. It freaked me out that I had to suddenly run for 3 minutes in a row!! And, in what i think was clever unconscious competence in sabotage I managed to press the button on the thing a number of times and it jumped forward through the workout and then when I tried to go back it skipped too far back and basically the whole thing just went kinda weird. So I didn’t really do the workout properly.

Now, because I was disappointed in myself and because I pretty much want a perfect run for this Couch to 5K mission –I re-did the run. I went straight back out the next night and did it properly. (Sidenote: as properly as I could do it at the time because the 3 minute run bit was still killing me!! I found it so difficult to get all the way through it!)

So technically I ran 4 times this week and I am kinda glad my inner perfectionist came out to play because I conquered something in all of that. It is truly a mental game. The body can do the work pretty much, in fact I think most people could do this physically quite easily. But mentally…that’s where the challenge is!

Edit/Update:

Week 3 Day 3 was easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy! I even…wait for it…enjoyed it! I really did enjoy it!

Week 3 Day 1: 6/5/13

Walk: .96 kms

Run: 2.39kms

time: 33.53

total distance: 3.35km

Week 3 Day 1 x 2: 7/5/13

Walk: 2.12km

Run: 2.55km

time: 32.11

total distance: 4.67km

(**that’s my all time record by the way!!)

Week 3 Day 2:

Walk: 1.38km

run: 2.59KM

Time: 30.55

total distance: 3.97km

Week 3 Day 3:

Walk: 1.47km

run: 4.94km

time: 27.25

total distance: 3.47km

Then I made the mistake of looking up Week 4 Day 1 … oh. Dear. Not. Good.

2 thoughts on “week 3 – and i thought week 2 was hard! haha!

    • Thank you! I am using the iphone app Couch-to-5K by Active – it has been sooooo good!
      I read about quite a few that are available but this app suits me best.
      It tracks by GPS but doesn’t suck a lot of battery, keeps a log of your runs and you can put your own soundtrack to it!
      Stay tuned because I will write a little thing about it in a bit more detail…
      I hope that helps!

Leave a comment